Pre-application advice

Design review panel

Harrow’s Design Review Panel (DRP) is an independent panel of built environment professionals. They provide expert design advice on new development proposals for the borough.

The DRP forms an important part of the planning process in shaping development. It is recommended that schemes are reviewed by the Panel as part of a pre-application process or planning performance agreement (PPA).

DRP members do not make planning decisions. Rather, they provide supplementary expert advice. This is in addition to internal design advice provided by council officers.

Schemes typically seen by the panel

The type of schemes that may be referred to the DRP include:

  • major or strategic planning applications (typically above 10 residential units)
  • development proposals that may significantly affect urban design in Harrow
  • development proposals which have special significance or interest to a local area
  • council frameworks, policies and initiatives with urban design implications
  • site-specific masterplans, design codes and design guidance.

Types of Review and Fees

Harrow operates three types of review for private development:

  • Full Panel Review (Panel composed of 1 Chair and 3 Members)
  • Chair’s Review (Panel composed of 1 Chair and 1 Member)
  • Desktop Review (Panel composed of 1 Chair)

From 1 April 2023, Harrow DRP fees are as follows:

  • Full Panel Review: £5,650 (reduced to £4,237 for a follow-up Full Panel Review)
  • Chair's Review: £2,119
  • Desktop Review: £1,471

Panel Chairs

Richard Cottrell

Richard Cottrell is co-founder and director of Cottrell and Vermeulen Architecture. Their practice is focused on education and community sectors. They have received multiple awards including the BD Architect of the Year Gold Award 2016 and BD Education Architect of the Year 2018.

Richard has delivered a number of award-winning and shortlisted projects including Westborough Primary School Zero-Carbon exemplar and the Royal London Hospital Children’s Play Space.

He has lectured widely on education and liturgical spaces and sits on Southwark and Lewisham design review panels. Richard is currently overseeing four new housing projects for Southwark Council, a new primary school in Brent, and a new church in Southend-on-Sea.

Katy Marks

Katy Marks is an Architect and Director of Citizens Design Bureau. She studied at Glasgow School of Art and Cambridge University with an Mphil in Environmental Design.

Katy was previously at Haworth Tompkins Architects where she worked on the Stirling Prize winning Everyman Theatre, Young Vic and National Theatre Studios before establishing Citizens Design Bureau in 2013. 

Current work ranges from Arts Centres, dance and music studios, to a new Jewish Museum in Manchester, a Church in Epping Forest, Community Land Trust Housing in Newham and sustainable typologies for libraries and civic spaces within new developments – for Hackney Council and the LLDC.

Neil Deely

Neil is Co-Founder and Partner of architecture and urbanism practice Metropolitan Workshop LLP established in 2004, with studios in London and Dublin.

His expertise lies in the design of complex residential led mixed-use projects, masterplanning and major public realm projects. He facilitates open, collaborative design dialogues and has a deep understanding and interest in the relationship between people and place.

He leads the practice’s ongoing research into suburban housing densities, modular construction and the UK’s Private Rented Sector. Neil is also the Chair of LB Newham’s Design Review Panel as well as LB Barking & Dagenham Quality Review Panel and a member of the Design South East panel.

Panel Members

Benni Allan
Director, EBBA Architects
Pooja Asher
Director, Aranya Consulting
Fran Balaam
Director, Balaam Murphy
Tom Bell
Director, Freehaus
Dinah Bornat
Director, ZCD Architects
Noel Cash
Associate Director, Henley Halebrown
Emma Elston
Senior Architect, Be First
Chris Fellner
Director, Haworth Tompkins
Mandy Franz
Associate Director, MICA Architects
Michael Gollings
Director, Gollings Architects
William Haggard
Director, CarverHaggard
Takeshi Hayatsu
Director, Hayatsu Architects
Satish Jassal
Director, Satish Jassal Architects
Amandeep Kalra
Associate Architect, Be First
Anna Kiho
Architect, HLM
Chloë Leen
Director, Pup Architects
Julian Lewis
Director, East 
Judith Loësing
Director, East 
Euan Macdonald
Partner, Hawkins\Brown
Miranda MacLaren
Director, Morris + Company
Fabrizio Matillana
Principal Urban Design Officer, LB Islington 
Cristina Monteiro
Director, DK-CM
Gareth Morris
Director, what:if projects

Vinesh Pomal
Project Architect, TateHindle

Amir Ramezani
Director, Avanti Architects

Sarah Beth Riley
Associate Architect, Be First

Seth Rutt
Founding Director, Studio Multi

Gurmeet Sian
Director, Office Sian

Tszwai So
Director, Spheron Architects

Emma Twine
Associate, DK-CM