Conservation areas and Article 4

Conservation areas / Article 4

In Harrow there are 29 spaces that are protected because they have unique features related to their buildings, townscape, or natural environment. These spaces are called conservation areas. The council has a duty to look after and enhance them, and does so by following area specific guidance.

Conservation Areas Supplementary Planning Documents

This guidance is provided within the Conservation Areas Supplementary Planning Documents (SPD) including their appendices of Conservation Area Appraisals and Management Strategies (CAAMS).

These documents present townscape and architectural character analysis. We use them to form policies and potential actions to bring about positive change. In this way they indicate how the council is likely to respond to planning applications. The documents are therefore written to assist residents and developers as well as the council's planning department.

The borough's conservation areas are split into four groups:

Planning permission for demolition

If you intend to demolish, or substantially demolish, any unlisted buildings in a conservation area, you will need planning permission.

During the application process planning officers will consult with conservation officers and the Conservation Area Advisory Committee to determine the outcome.

The Conservation Area Advisory Committee is a voluntary group which has an expressed interest in the protection of the historic environment, and includes:

  • architects
  • residents associations
  • historical groups
  • amenity societies

They meet monthly to discuss and give their views on current applications in, or within the setting of, conservation areas.

Within a conservation area there are some additional requirements for planning permission for residential buildings.

For further information, please download the conservation area residential planning guidelines.