Harrow's Heroes

Harrow's Heroes 2023


Everyone knows a local hero

Our flagship community awards returns this September! And we want to hear about our local heroes.

Harrow’s Heroes celebrates the extraordinary achievements, hard work and dedication of people and teams who make our borough a special place to live and work.

It highlights and showcases the best of the borough. We know thousands of people go out of their way to help their neighbours and communities.

From our carers, food distributers, our emergency services, and teachers; to volunteers, street cleaners, befrienders and transport drivers – there are lots of great things taking place in our borough that we want to celebrate. 

No matter how big or small the difference made, we want to hear about the fantastic people who make our borough special.

The awards are open to everyone who lives or works in Harrow or serves Harrow residents.

This year the response was fantastic with more than 100 nominations. We are now in the process of getting in touch with all nominees and finalists. 

2023 Harrow's Heroes finalists

Below are the award categories and finalists for this year. We will update with further details. Winners wil be announced in September. 

Outstanding Young Person 

  • Abi Carlen
  • Radhika Kovendrakumar
  • Rushil Jansari
  • Tara-Bella Halai - WINNER

Supporting Vulnerable People

  • Allie Brice
  • Carmen Blake
  • Erica Fontaine - WINNER
  • Hilary Ford

Contribution to the Community

  • Alicia Johnson
  • Emma Calderbank
  • Jade Fardon - WINNER
  • Mr and Mrs Chandramohan

Bringing People Together

  • Courtfield 19 - WINNER
  • David Heasman
  • Louise Baxter

Extraordinary Achievement

  • Ajay Shah- WINNER
  • Diven Halai - WINNER
  • Sheela Gajjar
  • Emma Quirke

Pride in Harrow

  • Andrew Rylett
  • Harrow Litterpicking Group
  • Lynn Scott
  • Peter Davies - WINNER

Health and Wellbeing 

  • Arthur Leong 
  • Dr Silvia Gerea - WINNER
  • Karen Ricketts
  • Roxeth Walking Group


  • Diya Group
  • Harrow Recreation Ground Users Association  - WINNER
  • Harrow Sustain IT
  • RCCT/Romanian Hub 

Good Neighbour

  • Harsh Kubavat
  • Jagdishbhai Raja
  • Justin Patel - WINNER
  • Shelina Islam

Lifetime Achievement

  • Jacqueline Pollock
  • Jennie Youle - WINNER
  • Lynn Clifford
  • Valerie Ashley

Volunteer of the Year

Harrow Recreation Ground Users Association