Honorary Alderman

What is an Honorary Alderman?

The Local Government Act 1972 created a statutory right for London borough councils to confer the lifetime title ‘Honorary Alderman’ on:

"A person who has rendered eminent service as a past member but was no longer a member."

Harrow's Honorary Aldermen is Honorary Alderman Richard Romain.

Honorary Alderman Richard RomainHonorary Alderman Richard Romain

Honorary Alderman Richard Romain was elected a Member of Council in 1982 and served for 32 continuous years. During this period he served on various major Council Committees, including his role as Chair of the Environment Services Committee and the Traffic and Transport Committee. He also served on Education, Development Control, Governance, Audit and Risk Management and the Pension Fund Committee involving strategic investment policy. He was Leader of the Conservative Group from 1994-1996. He represented Harrow as Chair of the West London Waste Authority and other external organisations.

In May 2014 he stood down as a Councillor and at a special meeting of the Council held on 12 June members voted unanimously to invest him with the title of Honorary Alderman, which he formally accepted at a special meeting of Council held on 24 July 2014.