dcsimg

How and when housing benefit is paid

Council tenants

Housing benefit will be paid directly to your rent account.

Private and housing association tenants

Payments will be paid into your bank account in arrears either weekly, every two weeks or every four weeks.

If you are paid every four weeks you will receive 13 payments a year.

If the first payment of your Housing Benefit covers a period of eight weeks or more, your Housing Benefit will be paid to your landlord.  If you do not want this payment to go to your landlord, please explain why and provide proof that your rent is paid up to date

Payments to landlords

We can pay your landlord every four weeks in arrears only.

Payment by cheque

We no longer make payment by cheque. If your housing benefit was previously paid by cheque, you must provide your bank details.

Four weekly payment schedule

If your housing benefit is paid to you or your landlord every four weeks, the payment will be credited to your bank account on the following dates:

  • Monday 25 March 2019
  • Tuesday 23 April 2019 (Monday is bank Holiday)
  • Monday 20 May 2019
  • Monday 17 June 2019
  • Monday 15 July 2019
  • Monday 12 August 2019
  • Monday 9 September 2019
  • Monday 7 October 2019
  • Monday 4 November 2019
  • Monday 2 December 2019
  • Monday 30 December 2019
  • Monday 27 January 2020
  • Monday 24 February  2020
  • Monday 23 March 2020

 

Housing benefits and council tax support office

Address:
Civic Centre
Harrow
HA1 2DU