dcsimg

How and when housing benefit is paid

Housing benefit payments are ordinarily paid to you or your landlord every four weeks. If your housing benefit is paid on a four weekly basis the payment will be credited to the specified bank account on the following dates:

  • Monday 23 March 2020
  • Monday 20 April 2020
  • Monday 18 May 2020
  • Monday 15 June 2020
  • Monday 13 July 2020
  • Monday 10 August 2020
  • Monday 7 September 2020
  • Monday 5 October 2020
  • Monday 2 November 2020
  • Monday 30 November 2020
  • Tuesday 29 December 2020 (Monday is Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 25 January 2021
  • Monday 22 February 2021
  • Monday 22 March 2021

How the payments will be issued

Council tenants - the payment will be paid directly to your rent account.

Private and housing association tenants - payments will be paid into your bank account in arrears either weekly, every two weeks or every four weeks. If you are paid every four weeks you will receive 13 payments a year. If the first payment of your Housing Benefit covers a period of eight weeks or more, your Housing Benefit will be paid to your landlord.  If you do not want this payment to go to your landlord, please explain why and provide proof that your rent is paid up to date.

Landlords - payments can be made to landlords every four weeks in arrears only.

Housing Benefit and Council Tax Support Office

Address:
Civic Centre
Harrow
HA1 2DU