General Election - 12th December 2019

On Thursday 12 December 2019, electors in Harrow will have the opportunity to choose their Members of Parliament. 

There are two constituencies in Harrow:

  • Harrow East
  • Harrow West

Eligibility to vote

You can only vote if you are registered. You can register if you meet both of these conditions:

  • you are 17 or over (but you cannot vote until your 18th birthday)
  • you are a British, Irish or Commonwealth Citizen

Citizens of the European Union cannot vote in the General Election.

Register to vote

If you are not yet registered to vote you can do so via: www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Postal Voting

Once registered, should you wish to vote by post for the General Election, a completed postal vote application form must reach our office by 5.00 pm on Tuesday 26 November 2019.

Proxy Voting

Once you're registered to vote you may choose to vote by proxy. This means you can appoint someone you trust to vote on your behalf at the General Election.

If you wish to use this option a completed proxy vote application form must reach our office by 5.00 pm on Wednesday 4 December 2019, unless you already have a postal vote in which case the deadline is 5.00 pm on Tuesday 26 November 2019.

Please make a proxy application using the online form.

Hatch End, Pinner and Pinner South Wards

Please note that the wards of Hatch End, Pinner and Pinner South fall within the constituency of Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner.  This constituency is administered by Hillingdon Council. However, please note that all electoral registration, postal and proxy applications should still be submitted to Harrow Electoral Services. General information can be found on Hillingdon Council's website.

Timetable of events

Notice of Election Thursday 7 November 2019
Receipt of Nominations Friday 8 November to Thursday 14 November 2019, between 10.00 am to 4.00 pm
Publication of persons nominated 5.00 pm Thursday 14 November 2019
Registration deadline Tuesday 26 November 2019
Postal vote application deadline 5.00 pm Tuesday 26 November 2019
First issue of postal votes Sent around Thursday 21 November 2019
Second issue of postal votes Sent around Tuesday 3 December 2019
Proxy vote application deadline 5.00 pm Wednesday 4 December 2019
First day to reissue replacement postal ballot papers Friday 6 December 2019
Day of Poll Thursday 12 December 2019
Deadline for emergency proxy applications / replacement postal vote ballot papers 5.00 pm Thursday 12 December 2019

Nomination Packs

Guide for Candidates and Agents and Nomination Packs



Electoral Register

For any enquiries including verifying whether you are already registered on the electoral roll please contact:

Address: PO Box 71
Civic Centre
Station Road

Telephone: 020 8901 2660