European Parliamentary Election 2019

On Thursday 23 May 2019, Harrow residents had the opportunity to vote for Members of the European Parliament.

The UK is currently represented by 73 MEPs at the European Parliament. In the UK, there are 12 European electoral regions and each region is represented by between three and 10 MEPs.

Voters had one vote to elect all of the MEPs for the London region.


The results for London can be viewed on Results and information on results for the London region.

Results for Harrow can be viewed on the Harrow Election Results webpage.


Who can vote In European Elections?

You can vote in European Parliamentary elections if you have registered to vote in time for the election and are:

  • 18 years of age or over on polling day
  • a British citizen living in the UK
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen living in the UK
  • a citizen of the Irish Republic living in the UK
  • registered to vote as an Overseas elector
  • registered to vote as a Crown Servant
  • registered to vote as a service voter

European Union citizens

Citizens of the European Union (excluding the UK, Republic of Ireland, Malta or Cyprus) need to complete a separate application, accompanied by a declaration stating that they will vote only in the UK at the European Parliamentary Election. For clarification you can find a list here of the countries within the European Union.

To check you have registered to vote in time, please view the Electoral registration timetable.

What is a 'qualifying Commonwealth citizen'?

Qualifying Commonwealth citizens are those who have leave to enter or remain in the UK or do not require such leave.

Register to vote

To register to vote, please go to the individual electoral registration page.